SEZi: Interview with an Individual

By Jamel Hall

These days with everyone seeking to define themselves as individuals, as something and someone a part from the herd it is indeed almost impossible to hear the word unique and not cringe. With the plethora of persons striving to be different yet bringing the same to the artistic table it is easy for those artists who are truly unique artistically and personally to be lost in the crowd. In this edition of Soul Sounds we catch up with Caribbean, alternative, soul, fusion artist SEZi and take a tour through her mind and her musical make up. She’s a real person and a genuine individual who speaks from her soul, the same source the feeds her creative bent.

 

What is your real name and where does your Stage name originate from?

“My real name is Sarah. My stage name originates from a nick name in my childhood. I was called Sarsie by my older brothers and it gradually evolved into SEZi which I named my creative self.”

What does it mean literally, and how do you pronounce it because I’m sure you’ve had to correct others before?

“It simply means “Says I.” My music is emotional and I write about experiences that have made an impact on my life. And being able to add a graphic into my name was something I wanted as well so the “eye” that I use for my logo is also representative of stories which are completely based on my opinions; through my eyes.”

A name is an important thing for a human being, it gives us Identity and in a sense purpose and life; how important is it to you as an artist?

“I think it is important only if you make it so. Many artists use their real names as their performance names. I think it depends on what gets you to tick, what turns on the fire within so one can create more. Naming myself SEZi definitely got me stoking my fire.”

So talk to me about where you were born and where you grew up.

“I was born in Jamaica, grew up in Trinidad and Tobago, and went to prep and high school in Trinidad. My Trini accent is pretty strong, I love having both islands as a part of my experience.”

How and why did you settle in Jamaica?

“I really did my “growing up” in Jamaica. I left Trinidad when I was 16 to go to school in the UK, since then it was mostly Jamaica that I came home to in the summers. I would spend my summers here with my Dad. So when it came time to settle back in the Caribbean, Jamaica was far more familiar to me as an adult.”

How did growing up where/how you grew up influence you as a person and as an artist?

“Growing up in the Caribbean really exposes you to very rich sounds. In Trinidad, there are sitars and tassa drums and that old school Calypsonian vibes, love that. In Jamaica it’s all about the bass lines, the wit in the lyrics, the groove; then there’s the influence from Europe and the U.S.  I always remember my brother coming back from school abroad and me listening to rock and roll, pop music, that 80s sad love songs vibe.”

“So, what I’m trying to say is that I have been influenced by many different sounds and cultures; I think as island people we are lucky with that. We have such a strong culture but also have huge influences from the Europeans, Africans…our Caribbean History is just fascinating.”

Who were you before you decided to define yourself as a musician?

“I was me, I’m still me, I’m just more aware and open to this creativity within that’s pouring out. I guess the difference with me now is I’m braver…I’m willing to take the fall, get up, and go again. So yes, I can be defined by that I’m ok with that.”

Did you ever consider a career outside of music, maybe in another area of the arts?

“I have a career outside of music, I teach kids. That’s definitely an art in and of itself.”

What did you listen to while growing up and who were your musical idols?

“Wow the idols….so many. I’m gonna have to pass on this one, I feel like I might leave someone out and then I will feel really badly about that. How do people answer this question ay?”

How old were you when you first realized that you wanted to be a musician?

“ I’ve been a performer from about 6 when I starred in my first roll as Thumbelina in a Ballet recital and I was hooked from then. The feeling I get when I prepare something that expresses what’s inside and share it made me feel good from then…and it still does now. I however spent a long time standing in my own way when it comes to my creativity, I am grateful that I stepped out of my own way, yes very grateful for that.”

Is your family musical, was there anyone who noticed your talent and tried to nurture it?

“My mum had a drama school, my grandfather played the piano, and I danced all my childhood and teen years. So yes, my family has always supported me in my decisions…they’ve always supported my performing…they are always there encouraging me…Bless them.”

In such a crowded musical climate how do you differentiate yourself from other musical acts and raise yourself to the fore?

“ I’m still trying to figure that out. I think my proof in my pudding lies in my live performances. I am also currently working on a live music project so when I have that product ready I will be better able to answer this question…gimme a few months (smiles).”

  I oftentimes see you performing with a wooden Cheetah I believe it is, could you tell me about it, why do you carry it and what does it mean?

“I started singing in bars and restaurants where there was no stage or anything like that, so I needed to create that creative space for myself. I got Cheetah as a present one Christmas and I’d take him with me and sit on him or kneel on him, put a drink on him. It just allowed me and my audience to realise that I wasn’t there for a drink or a meal; I was actually going to perform and make a joyful sound. Now Cheetah does the Noble job of holding my water, I sit on him sometimes for acoustic sets etc.”

How long have you been in the industry? 

“I have to kinda smile at this question because I still feel like I’m trying to get in the industry…it’s a tricky one this music industry thing.”

Has it been a good experience, what would you change if you could?

“It has been awesome so far, I have met and played with so many talented musicians. I’ve had so many amazing conversations with people who spend their time creating art on many levels. I love this world of creating creativity, it totally rocks my world.”

How would you classify your music/Define your sound?

“I wanna say I have a Caribbean Cabaret (without the too sexy) kinda flare to my music. I love performing and interacting with musicians on stage and planning themes for shows and creating mini sets; I simply love sharing the music. It heals you know like water, it carries a healing vibration if it is done with the right intentions.”

What drives you to write, and who are you trying to reach with your music?

“Life drives me to write, it’s cathartic to put into lyrics stories from my own life or stories from friends. Words can be so beautiful and powerful and of course the sound of instruments…any…all…are Incredible. I’m trying to reach whoever is open enough to be touched.”

Do you perform in public? Describe those occasions?

“I do many live events around Kingston. People generally come who are lovers of live music.  It is always a nice vibe.”

How do you handle mistakes during a performance?

“I don’t take myself too too seriously up there if I mess up; I go with the mess up. I flow with it and it’s all ok, it’s bigger than just me really. The more fun I have the better I think I do.”

Do you get nervous before a performance ?

“I feel really alive. My heart beats fast, but usually it’s in excitement for the opportunity to perform. I get nervous yes, but I try to channel those nervous into positive feelings.”

How often and for how long do you practice?

“I wish I rehearsed every week regardless of show coming up. I know some bands that do this and they are just incredible because of it.”

Do you prefer performing or recording in studio?

“I love both but interacting with people on a stage …with live musicians and an audience…that is really special to me.”

I’d like to thank you for giving me the time to pick your brain, its been an interesting experience.

 

Take a Listen.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/SEZi/120384348051668?sk=app_2405167945

Leave a comment